I recorded myself reading “Crime and Punishment” for the audio clip to edit in class this week. I can silently read several pages in 4 minutes, so I thought I would make it well into the chapter by the time the recording was up. In reality, I read a little over a single page out loud. When I write my own material, I will keep this in mind. Talking for that long was difficult; I wanted to clear my throat but kept going because I was afraid to stop. If I had read TBCB before doing so, I would have known to cough, wait 5 seconds, and continue where I left off or at a convenient point in the previous sentence, then edit it out. Dostoevsky is a wordy author, and though his writing flows well, it was a challenge to maintain momentum of each sentence when speaking. This hammered in the “keep it simple” point when writing for speaking. This exercise was a great teaching tool in both writing and recording a podcast.

I’ve been coming across a few articles on the use of social media in education recently. One of these posts was on MediaShift, one of the blogs I am following for class. To paraphrase, social media is turning huge lecture classes into seminars where everyone is able to participate. Twitter and CoverItLive were two of the platforms mentioned. CoverItLive is a new technology for me, and appears to be a Twitter/blog hybrid. I’ve been finding our use of Twitter to be a great way to participate and share ideas; not everyone is a natural pubic speaker, and shy people often feel more comfortable expressing themselves in writing. Even if traditional lecture classes are slow to adopt Twitter, it is a great resource for online classes that currently have no discussion forum.

