Podcast
One of my podcasts is KEXP’s “Music that Matters.” It follows a rotating host format: every week, a different DJ puts together 10-15 songs, with a bit of commentary thrown into the mix. The audience is probably current KEXP listeners; this podcast is targeted to Seattlites, as evidenced by the hosts frequently reference to Seattle bands as local bands. My guess is that most of the people are like me: the 22-40 range who want to say current with the ever-changing music scene.

The three episodes I have listened to have varied widely in attitude. Though they all have the same music and monologue format, each host brings their own twist: the musical style and production vary greatly, and I am never sure what kind of music I will hear. The first episode I listened to had some indie rock artists that I really enjoyed, a few of which I downloaded to further explore their music. The second podcast was so-so, nothing I really wanted to listen to more but liked at the time. The third focused on hip-hop, a musical genre that I have never really gotten in to. However, I signed up for this podcast to explore new types of music; how can I say I don’t enjoy hip-hop if I haven’t really listened to it? In this way, it is fulfilling the audience’s expectations by exposing them to new music. Other than musical styles, the DJ’s approach the whole production differently. The first had obvious errors and even a couple profanities but was heartfelt, honest and personal, while the second was much mellower and let the music do the talking. The third put together a sound clips and musical montages that made it sound professional but frankly wasted my valuable podcast listening time. The format is standard enough to be comforting and varied enough to be interesting. I’m excited to see what comes next: the unexpected isn’t scary when I know to expect it.

Blog
In the blogoshere, the blog that I have been following most closely is The Medium by Virginia Heffernan, found on the New York Time’s website. She focuses on the convergence of entertainment and digital culture, which covers blogs, videos, Twitter, and more. I have found her to be a somewhat conservative social media advocate. She says about not loving her iphone: “I was late to get one — and maybe that’s the problem;” this statement applies to more than just her phone: she seems to arrive at everything after the true technophiles and is somewhat wary. Her last post saying that Twitter is for the poor was a little offensive, making me wonder who her main audience is; my guess is that it is people who do not actively use social media (and have no intention of doing so) but want to stay somewhat current, i.e. older readers of the New York Times who want to keep up with their children. Her posts are interesting but nothing groundbreaking, which I probably should have expected from the online version of traditional printed news source.

