Our books seem to follow two assumptions. Either 1) you will use a service like Podbean to put out your podcast or 2) you work for a company with a tech department that can handle your feed for you. Unfortunately, if your company is small, you’re going to need to learn a little more; if you use Podbean, the feed will be associated with Podbean, which isn’t ideal for branding your podcast as legitimate and professional, but if you want to use your own server to host it, be prepared to go out of your comfort zone with web programming: even the most seasoned software engineer may not understand podcasting without a bit of explanation.

My company, a small start-up, has just started podcasting. Since I am taking this class, I was enthusiastically given the task of distributing the podcast. I was looking forward to submitting it to different podacst catchers and getting hundreds of interested listeners to tune in. Instead, they gave me a raw MP3 file and told me to have fun with it. Ultimately, I got the tech guy to create a feed, but first I needed to explain to him what exactly he needed to do, which required a crash course in XML and RSS. The University of Washington’s Learning and Scholarly Techniques page does a great job explaining RSS feed. Podcast 411 also has a decent page (and a podcast episode) devoted to this.

Once we got this squared away, the tech guy was able to show me the actual details of how to add episodes. 1) Acquire the MP3. 2) Make the MP3 available by uploading to a server: the company uses Amazon’s S3. This is pretty easy: I downloaded an S3 plugin from Firefox, entered some top-secret information, drag’n’dropped the file and then made it public. 3) Publish the podcast: this requires updating the RSS file; the company has a wordpress plugin that does it for me so that I don’t have to worry about <this sort of stuff>. Voila! Now, if only my free wordpress acount would make podcasting so easy…

